The Score Artists @ Work Member Directory Premier Partners Seminar Downloads SCL Videos NY Home Forum Ambassador Program Mentor Program Hall of Fame In Memoriam Lifetime Achievement Emerging Composer
Lorraine Feather working on four projects.

Lyricist/vocalist Lorraine Feather, whose new CD release Dooji Wooji was released in May 2005 on Sanctuary Records, is currently working on a quartet of writing projects.

Last July, when Feather was performing her revamped Fats Waller material at New York's 92nd Street Y with Dick Hyman, she was seen by one of the producers of The Thief, a Soviet-era musical based on a 1998 Russian (Oscar-nominated) film of the same name. Feather was hired to write lyrics for the production, the music for which is by Russian composer Vladimir Shainskiy. Joseph Church, longtime conductor for the Broadway show The Lion King, is orchestrating. Shortly after signing on to do The Thief, Feather was commissioned to work with New York composer Stefania deKenessey on an opera of Tom Wolfe's Bonfire of the Vanities. Wolfe, a fan of deKenessey's music, gave her the rights for this undertaking in 2004.

Feather's other current lyric-writing gigs are The Aristocats 2 for Walt Disney (with composer Bill Elliott), and the My Little Pony film series for Hasbro Toys (with Mark Watters and Terry Sampson). She expects to begin touring in support of Dooji Wooji in earnest in July; Feather performed in Rochester, NY and in D.C. at the Kennedy Center in April, both with pianist Shelly Berg.

Dooji Wooji received 4 stars from Scott Yanow in All Music Guide and was praised as her best yet by Christopher Loudon, vocal reviewer for Jazz Times. Loudon had put Feather's previous release, Such Sweet Thunder-Music of the Duke Ellington Orchestra on his 10 Best List for 2004. The new CD features four Ellington pieces with Feather's lyrics and eight tracks in a similar 1930s "small big band" style, music by Shelly Berg, Eddie Arkin, Russell Ferrante and Bill Elliott.

Member Login

username password
Forgot your password?

© Copyright 2019 The Society of Composers & Lyricists, all rights reserved.