Officers Board of Directors Advisory Board Past Presidents Diamond Members Platinum Members Code of Conduct Contact Us Sitemap
:About the SCL
Ashley Irwin

Visit Website>

Emmy® award-winner, ASHLEY IRWIN, has scored over 30 feature films, 300 hours of television and over 3,000 commercials. His most recent theatrical feature film, The Pardon, starring John Hawkes and Jaime King, was released earlier this year and he has completed scores to another two feature films scheduled for release.

Ashley relocated from his native Australia to the U.S.A. in 1990 after a successful career in theatre, records, advertising and Australian TV with themes and scores for shows like E Street, Richmond Hill, All The Way and Willing & Abel.

In 1998 he was awarded Best Feature Film Score by the Australian Guild of Screen Composers for his score to the restored silent classic The White Hell of Piz Palü and the following year commissioned by the British Film Archives to write a new score to Alfred Hitchcock’s silent classic The Lodger, in honor of the great director’s 100th anniversary. Both these films continue to be performed in film-live concerts throughout the world.


In 2006, Ashley received a G.A.N.G. award for EA’s The Godfather video game.


Well-known for his collaborations with Oscar® winners Clint Eastwood and Bill Conti, Ashley has arranged and composed music for 19 Academy Awards shows (including the most recent), several Emmys® and Grammys®, as well a slew of other TV variety shows. He was Musical Director for the inaugural Screen Actors Guild Awards and for the American Giving Awards, both for NBC.


In 2015 Ashley recreated the songs of Peter Allen for the mini-series Peter Allen: Not the Boy Next Door and was nominated for an AACTA award.


He is an official APRA-AMCOS Ambassador and has been President of the Society of Composers & Lyricists for the past 4 years where he was recently elected to his 3rd 2-year term.


<Return to Officers

Member Login

username password
Forgot your password?

© Copyright 2019 The Society of Composers & Lyricists, all rights reserved.