Officers Board of Directors Advisory Board Past Presidents Diamond Members Platinum Members Code of Conduct Contact Us Sitemap
:About the SCL
Alan & Marilyn Bergman

Visit Website >

Alan and Marilyn Bergman are a lyric-writing team who have won three Academy Awards, two Grammys, one Ace Award and three Emmy Awards. In 1995, Marilyn and Alan were recipients of Honorary Doctorates from the Berklee College of Music, and also received the National Academy of Songwriters Lifetime Achievement Award. In 1980, they were inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame, and in June of 1997 received the organization's Johnny Mercer Award. Among many other accolades, Alan and Marilyn have been nominated for sixteen Academy Awards, and in 1983, they became the first songwriters ever to be nominated for three Academy Awards for Best Song out of the five nominated songs.

In 1985, Marilyn became the first woman to be elected to the Board of Directors of ASCAP, and in February of 1994, after serving five terms, she was elected President and Chairman of the Board of ASCAP. In September of 1996, she received France's highest cultural honor, Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters Medal. Alan and Marilyn both serve on the Executive Committee of the Music Branch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Alan is the President of the Academy's (AMPAS) Foundation.

Some of Alan and Marilyn's credits include: "The Windmills of Your Mind," "The Way We Were," "You Don't Bring Me Flowers," "Yellow Bird," "Nice n' Easy," "How Do You Keep The Music Playing?," "What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life?," "Ordinary Miracles," the score to the film Yentl, and "Moonlight," from the film Sabrina. Their long list of television credits includes the theme songs for Maude, Good Times, Alice, and Brooklyn Bridge.

< Return to Advisory Board

Member Login

username password
Forgot your password?

© Copyright 2018 The Society of Composers & Lyricists, all rights reserved.